A Long Walk

The sun kisses my burnt skin and I embrace her with a smile

The whistles in the trees sing my favorite song and my heart beat plays the drum to the soundtrack of the summer.

Still warm from the honey red bush beverage that reminds me of the land I call home.

I stroll.

The ropes on my hair sway gently in the breeze in perfect harmony with my white cotton skirt.

I raise my arms to the sky and wave at Ra, reminding him to set (or so I like to think).

I laugh, deep from my chest and change my footing to a skip in my elation.

Every moment golden and every thought completely silent and at peace. Allowed to breathe and allowed to just be. Be everything that is in the universe for I, myself am a universe. The planetary alignments and solar eclipses of my mind remind me to ground myself in the beautiful red soil of mother Africa. My planet of birth. And she calls me by my name. The sand burns the unders of my feet.

Leave a comment